The Year That Was

Although precise dates are tending to blur somewhat during my maternity leave, it has come to my attention that the year will be ending in a little over an hour.  This always leaves me feeling as though I ought to write some sort of incisive and preferably witty summary of the year to wind it all up.

The obvious thing to say about this year is that it has been wonderful.  On thinking about it a bit more, it would probably be more accurate to say that it was a year in which wonderful things happened – most of the actual year would be better described as ‘exhausting’.  One of the partners at the surgery was on long-term sick leave during the year, with the consequent impact on our workload, and given that I was pregnant for most of the year, plus taking as little holiday as possible so that I could save up all my annual leave allotment for the end of my pregnancy (thus meaning I could save all the maternity leave allowance for after the baby was born – since we’re limited in how much time I can afford to take off, this was important), this meant that I spent a large proportion of the year feeling absolutely zonked.  I’m actually less tired now with a newborn to take care of – at least I can catch up on sleep during the day, for the most part.  (Fortunately, I have a baby who’s a good sleeper, plus a husband at home full time.  It makes a huge difference.)  But, my goodness, it was worth it.

So here we are at the end of the year.  I have a wonderful daughter who was no more than a twinkle in my eye at the start of it, and a son who has gone from being almost completely non-verbal to chatting away nineteen to the dozen (an appropriate turn of phrase, given how much of what he says is on the general subject of numbers).  Exhaustion or not, I’d say it’s been a bloody good year.

1 Comment

Filed under Here Be Offspring, I think this line's mostly filler, The doctor is OUT. To lunch.

One response to “The Year That Was

  1. The Year That Was

    Bookmarked your post over at Blog Bookmarker.com!

Leave a Reply

