Ten months – Stand up clap hands

Katie can now pull herself to standing.  She will imitate us when we clap our hands for her (a cute milestone for any parent to see, but with extra significance for us; Jamie never did this, and the fact that Katie does is another indication that she probably isn't on the autistic spectrum).  She loves her baths and howls disconsolately when it's time to be lifted out and dried.  She likes helping me pull the cord on the light switch in the bathroom and, when I say to her "Can we switch the light on?" she understands me and looks round for the switch.  She has a grand total of five toofy-pegs – all four of the front ones and the bottom right incisor.

She has started in Gymbabes (the baby version of Tumbletots).  This involves a certain amount of awkward timing; Gymbabes/Tumbletots classes run throughout the morning in age group order, starting with the Gymbabes class and moving on through progressively older groups of Tumbletots.  Therefore, we now have two children to get to two different classes at different times of the morning.  We work it by splitting up the children (fortunately, the classes are on my day off each week); I take Katie while Barry stays home with Jamie (both of them normally still in bed at the time I leave), and, later on, Barry takes Jamie while I stay home with Katie.  Since this is also Barry's day for going shopping, he does this between the two classes, while I stay home with both children.  The effect is a bit box-and-cox, but rather fun – I get a bit of uninterrupted time with Katie at the class, and then, since Jamie's class pretty much coincides with one of Katie's somewhat erratic nap times, I get a bit of uninterrupted time to myself at home.  That really is good, even if I do spend most of it emptying the dishwasher and putting the laundry in the dryer.  Katie, meanwhile, took a while to warm up to the idea of the classes, but rapidly got to like them.  Especially the ball pool and the giant green ball that's bigger than she is.

The other adventure of Katie's tenth month was night weaning – cutting out her night feeds.  I started writing all about the whys and wherefores of this, but it seemed to be taking over this whole post and in the end I decided to consign it to the vast mental heap of Things I Really Will Write A Post About Some Day, Honest.  The how was simple enough – I switched her onto the bottle for night feeds so that I could tell how much she was taking, and then reduced the amount gradually over several nights while increasing her daytime intake, so that she wasn't actually hungry at night during the transition. This was, of course, a complete and utter pain – instead of simply hauling her into bed with me and nursing her when she woke up, I had to get up and warm bottles – but it avoided all the crying that seems to happen in most of the accounts of night weaning that I've read, and it worked.  A week after starting – four nights before turning ten months old – Katie made it through from bedtime to breakfast without sustenance, and has done so on a regular basis ever since.  (She does still occasionally need a few ounces to get her through, but that's now the exception rather than the rule.) 

She does still wake up each night, but that's not a big deal – I still take her into bed with me, only now without the feeding.  I shall change that too, in due course, if she doesn't grow out of it spontaneously in the near future (which is quite possible – Jamie did, within a week or two of me night weaning him, and Katie has been waking up progressively less often since being night weaned and has been noticeably easier to settle when she does wake, so I shall see how it goes), but I'm happy to wait a bit on that one and rest on my laurels for now.

3 Comments

Filed under Don't let the bedbugs bite, Here Be Offspring, How quickly they grow up, Milky milky

3 responses to “Ten months – Stand up clap hands

  1. My name is Reina from Buzz Paradise.
    I noticed that you’re interested in parenting and maternal products. I would love to invite you to a great campaign. Could you contact me for further information. Have a nice day and hope I can hear from you soon.

  2. Hey there,
    My name is Rachael, and I work for a PR/Marketing group. (Might as well be honest!)
    I’m currently talking to people in the online parenting community about a new parenting/childcare site. I’m trying to get reviews and feedback for this site, to get bloggers opinions. I’ve already got a few people on board, but I’d really like to talk to you about this.
    If this piques your interest, please let me know at
    rachael AT hyperlaunch DOT com
    Many thanks for reading,
    Rachael

  3. Sarah Hoare

    First of let me say how great it is to have found you! After being swamped with US blogspots it was a blessing to discover some UK ones – Thank you!
    Secondly, hopefully you can help, my friend and I are currently conducting some research into the demand levels for organsied children’s parties – with a difference. The idea is To supply, co-ordinate and perform children’s birthday parties (ages 3 – 9) within the family home or rented venue – initial consultation, set-up, entertainment, decorations and clean-up are all included in the cost as well as unique themes, fun and fancy dress!
    We aim to to enable both parents and children to enjoy their special day, reducing the stress, hassle and time required to give their child the best possible party at a competitive cost.
    I have grown up as part of a large family and with a mother who is a Primary School Teacher and I understand how time-consuming such events can be, and also how fun! I want to provide a service that gives everyone the chance to really focus on what it is all about – the kid’s enjoyment (with perhaps some learning along the way) without it turning into some mammoth party planning situation!
    In order to be able to tailor the business to what parents would be looking for and realistic costs I thought getting involved in some of the online communities would be a easy (for them) and open way of beginning communications and it will be interesting to see different individuals views.
    Is this something your site would be happy to host?
    I look forward to hearing from you and hope you have a good day!
    Many thanks (in advance!)
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

