Addenda

A quick collection of bits that either don't easily fit into another post or that I omitted to include in the post they should have fitted into:

We had the LISM (Local Inclusion Support Meeting – the get-together of relevant people to discuss how Jamie was doing and what he needed to do next).  I'd pictured this being a large group of people sitting round a conference table in some long bleak boardroom, but in fact it was just a few of us in a very nice room with a few chairs clustered round a coffee table and plenty of toys that Katie could play with (so she spent much of the meeting trying to play with people's Filofaxes and briefcases).  There were only three other people there besides us – Manda and Jane from the nursery, and Sharon, the area SENCO (Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator).  Dr M., Carol (our health visitor), and the speech therapist who's been coming in and doing sessions with Jamie at nursery once a week had all been invited but couldn't make it, although we did get long and detailed notes from the speech therapist to compensate for her absence.

We all sat around and talked about Jamie's many strong points and general wonderfulness, and discussed what things needed to happen next.  Barry and I are having another shot at toilet training him, Manda has some ideas for working on things at nursery to help him with making transitions between activities and so forth, and when we know which school he's been allocated to (which apparently we won't until February, unfortunately) we can put in an application for him to have an aide for the initial weeks of the school year to provide him with some extra support.  Sharon documented all this, including (I was pleased to hear) my heartfelt compliments and thanks to the nursery staff for the truly spectacular job they're doing with him (do you know they even offered to help with the toilet training in any way they could?  Good god, I don't even want to do the job and he's my son, yet here they are just volunteering for a share in it!)  Then we all went our separate ways to get on with the various things we'd agreed to do, which, in our case, involves putting Jamie into pants for a bit of time each day and trying to make sure that as many as possible of the resultant puddles end up vaguely aimed at the toilet.  (We are making progress, although in a terribly slow way.)

Katie is still breastfeeding twice daily (on days when I'm at home – on my work days, I leave before she wakes up in the morning, so obviously she only gets the evening breastfeed on those days).  I'd assumed I'd have to drop the morning breastfeed when I was no longer pumping, but it seems the production system does have that much leeway in it and I have been able to keep up the twice-daily breastfeed.  She can pretty much take or leave these and I think that if I went to "don't offer, don't refuse" now, she'd be weaned within a day or so with no looking back.  I have in fact given some serious thought to whether I should do it that way and thus make the final weaning easy, but, well, antibodies, winter coming, all that, not to mention that I still like doing it.  So, I'm still sticking with the original plan of keeping going until either she gets bored with it or spring comes, whichever happens first.

Finally, because I like recording such things, here's the list of milestones Katie's card from the health visitor tells us children should have reached by the end of one year (all nicely achieved in her case, I'm pleased to say):

  • Standing, crawling, and sitting to play
  • Finger feeding/enjoying a wide range of foods
  • Drinking from a cup/feeder cup
  • Making lots of babbly noises and saying 'Dada, Mama, Baba'
  • Waving and clapping hands
  • Enjoying books (I assume that last one covers 'enjoying pulling them off the shelves and trying to eat them'.)
5 Comments

Filed under Here Be Offspring, How quickly they grow up, Milky milky

5 responses to “Addenda

  1. Granny C

    What toilet training did meeting recommend? I have managed this problem twice before with reasonable success. Would be more than willing to help. What about special big boy pull up pants with pictures on them of things J likes like special numbers, his address, his age etc plus maybe the odd Mr. Man? Just say the word. Noticed some really cute Thomas the tank engine pull ups that looked very interesting.
    Granny C

  2. They didn’t recommend anything, particularly. All we’re doing is putting him on the toilet or potty when we can and getting him to wear pants sometimes so that he can feel when he’s wet. He’s not particularly impressed with any of it, so I don’t think he’s really all that ready yet – apparently four is quite young for children on the autistic spectrum to be trained, so it’s likely to take a while. He does have Thomas pants, but doesn’t seem that interested in them.

  3. Ruth

    Why don’t you write a comment piece about this for New Scientist (or similar)
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/jan/12/autism-screening-health
    love Ruth xxx

  4. Hi there
    Sorry to interrupt like this, but I don’t have a direct email address. I’m writing from Bugaboo, and I understand you’re already one of our ‘Friends’ (welcome!) and I wanted to send you some more information on it.
    Would you be able to come back to me when you have a moment (ha ha – I know!)
    Many thanks
    Georgina

  5. hi sarah,
    i found you via midwifemuse and am enjoying getting acqquainted with your blog. also i’m on the hunt for a GP and a mum to contribute an ‘expert opinion’ to an article i’m writing for a pregnancy and birth magazine – if you’re interested would you drop me a line to heidi@giftofthegab.net and i’ll explain further. i a mum turned blogger turned freelance writer. THANKS,
    heidi

Leave a Reply

